Xmas season

Christmas has officially started, as last night I attended a Panto (my first one ever).  Panto is short for Pantomime, a “silly” theatre play, a bit like a Monty Python-esque fairytale musical theatre performance that usually happens around Christmas and it is aimed at the entire family.  It is also mentioned on Eça de Queirós’ “Letters from England” from around 1887, so i guess it is quite an old tradition.

I went for Mother Goose at the Hackney Empire and got a second row seat.  It was great fun, in particular as the kids in front of me were constantly interacting with the stage.  I even thought at some point they would climb up, but luckily the musicians were on the way.

If you have a chance, I suggest you go for one.

– – – – – – – –

Ontem ‘a noite comecou a época natalícia, pois fui assistir a uma pantomima.  Por aqui, e desde há muito tempo (o Eça faz referencia ‘as pantomimas nas “Cartas de Inglaterra”), estas performances acontecem por altura do Natal e sao para toda a família.  Um mix de teatro musical, contos infantis e “palhacada”.

A peca a que fui assistir é a Galinha dos Ovos de Ouro e tive direito a um lugar na segunda fila, mesmo ‘a frente.  A peca foi super divertida e os miudos ‘a minha frente ajudaram ‘a festa pois estavam constantemente a mandar comentários para o palco.  Eu acho que se os músicos nao estivessem no caminho eles tinham subido lá para cima tal era a excitacao!

Se tiverem hipótese vao assistir a uma.

Leave a Reply

