Mugged | Assaltada

Last week I was mugged.

 

I know, I know, I live in East London, I walk through all these neighbourhoods, bla, bla, bla

The truth is it was broad daylight, it was in front of a listed building and on a main road.

 

4 kids sitting on the doorsteps pulled my bag and threatened me with a screwdriver. It was so sudden that I just let my bag go and ran away when I found I still had my phone in my pocket. So far nothing new, it was a robbery.

 

However, having reported it to the police I have found that the policy is to make you (the victim) feel comfortable and safe. The cops took me on a drive around the neighbourhood to try spot the robbers.   They then came with me to my house to take my statement while I sat comfortably on my living room. They didn’t rush me (was the end of the day, probably the end of their shift but still they were here for almost one hour), asked me a lot of questions about the incident, my bag and its contents and the attackers.

That same evening the officer that took the notes called me to give me the crime reference number and the next day I was contacted by a detective who had been put in charge of the case.   She wanted to know how I was and gave me her contact in case I remembered something else.

I was then contacted by a victim support charity volunteer who wanted to know how I was, told me what I could experience in the coming days and offered me a personal alarm.

 

After the police left my house I cancelled my cards and got the door lock changed. While the bag was old and had less than £20 cash in it, the damage so far has been over £200 just in replacing locks and cards and the personal items in the bag (contact lenses, new lipstick, all that girly stuff).

 

How am I doing? Not sure. I am happy that the police is looking into it and that they actually have a support line. The robbers didn’t touch me, not even with a finger. There was no pushing or holding. They grabbed the bag and pulled. I think this was good. I think all these things make me feel lucky, as most times I hear about crimes in East London usually involve knifes and gangs. Though I lived here for more than 7 years and I have never seen anything happening.

In the morning I go for my jogs and walk happily to work but comes evening and I feel a bit uncomfortable.   Walking on the street, if I see a group of kids about the same age, I feel like changing sidewalks. A few days ago I jogged home back from work. I was so aware of what happened before that I kept close to another jogger who luckily came the same way. On the plus side I improved my running speed to catch up with him!

I was told feeling this way was normal, let’s hope this feeling goes away.

 

A semana passada fui assaltada.

 

Eu sei que moro em East London mas isso nao é desculpa.

O assalto foi a ir para o cinema, em plena luz do dia, ‘a porta de um prédio todo catita. 4 miúdos estavam sentados nos degraus tipo filme americano à conversa, quando eu passei por eles um puxou o meu saco e outro avisou-me que tinham uma chave de fendas. Eu larguei o saco, foi tudo muito rápido e quando descobri que tinha o telemóvel no bolso pus-me a correr dali para fora.

 

Ia a caminho da esquadra quando encontrei 2 polícias na rua. Eles chamaram uma carrinha e fomos dar uma volta pelo bairro a ver se viamos os miudos. Os polícias vieram comigo a casa para registar a queixa sem pressas e com alguma paciencia; fizeram várias perguntas sobre o que aconteceu, o conteudo da minha carteira e os atacantes.

Nessa mesma noite telefonaram me com o número do crime e entretanto veio um serralheiro mudar a fechadura e cancelei os cartões.

No dia seguinte ligou me um detective a informar que era a responsável pelo caso, a saber como eu estava e a dar-me o contacto caso me lembrsse de mais alguma coisa. Também recebi um telefonema da linha de apoio à vítima, que me disseram o que poderia acontecer nos próximos tempos e mandaram-me um alarme pessoal.

Os miúdos levaram menos de £20 mas custaram me mais de £200 entre fechadura nova, lentes de contacto e cartões que tive de renovar

Como é que eu estou? Pois nao sei explicar.   Por um lado a eficiencia do sistema (policia, linha de apoio, serralheiros de emergencia, etc) deixou-me mais confortável. O facto de nao me terem sequer empurrado ou tocado com um dedo também ajudou, pois quando ouco falar de crimes por esta zona normalmente envolve gangs e facas.

 

De manha continuo a ir correr e a pé para o trabalho, mas ao fim do dia nao me agrada a ideia de andar na rua e quando vejo um grupo de miudos tenho vontade de mudar de passeio. Ha uns dias decidi vir a correr para casa do trabalho e apesar do desconforto “colei-me” a um tipo que ia a correr também e que parou pouco antes da minha casa. O melhor disto foi que melhorei o meu tempo de corrida porque ele era mais rápido que eu!

 

Disseram-me que é normal sentir-me assim. Entretanto comprei pilhas para as luzes e se o tempo continuar seco vou de biciclete para o trabalho. Isto há de passar.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Mugged | Assaltada

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

